Summer Reading

Keep us updated on the reading you’re doing over summer! We always love suggestions and maybe your book will become the next book we’ll discuss!

5 Responses to Summer Reading

  1. Christina says:

    So far this summer I’ve read two books that I’ve really enjoyed:

    1) Important Artifacts and Personal Property from the Collection of Lenore Doolan and Harold Morris, Including Books, Street Fashion, and Jewelry —by Leanne Shapton

    This is a “novel” that shows you an entire relationship’s rise and fall, but it’s “written” as an auction catalogue, so the entire thing is a series of photographs of the couple’s belongings and description of their significance. Very different and surprisingly moving.

    2) Solanin — by Asano Inio

    This is a manga that really reads smoothly, and I don’t say this lightly, I’ve been trying to read graphic novels for years and have not had much success. It’s about some recent college grads who are trying to move on and grow up but are finding that they have really never been prepared for a “real” life. It’s angsty and somewhat immature but there’s some great themes and beautiful illustrations. If you come at it thinking it’s kind of a different for of indie movie, one where you control the pacing a lot more, kind of a movie-novel hybrid, that’s what I did and really enjoyed it.

    Also, for those who, like me, are looking for some alternative, visual-literary fare, but can’t quite get through hardcore comic books, there’s a really good series of short story comics called Flight, compiled by Kazo Kibuishi but each story has a different author. There’s like 5 volumes, I’m on the second, it’s really good for reading a story here and a story there, more beautiful artwork and mostly positive, dream-like narratives.

  2. Cait says:

    I have been reading Jodi Picoult’s books this summer. I put “My Sister’s Keeper” on hold at the library and am still waiting for it to arrive. In anticipation, I have read her books “Harvesting the Heart”, “Change of Heart”, and “Vanishing Acts”. All three books have been absolutely amazing and I would definitely suggest her as an author. I just started a fourth book of hers, “The Tenth Circle” and am sure I’ll enjoy it as much as the others. I would love to read “My Sister’s Keeper” as a discussion book since it seems to be a very popular and wide-read book!

  3. Erin says:

    I’ve read all of those Jodi Picoult’s and absolutely loved them. The olnly one by her that I read and was not the biggest fan of was “Mercy”. I’m about to start reading her book “The Pact” and I think that may be the last book by her that I have not read. Any suggestions for a new author?

  4. Karyn Katz says:

    Although in my world, summer is for fiction, I have read two nonfiction books that I would like to recommend. The first is, In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan. It’s a very interesting commentary on food, nutrition, and eating locally (an important interest of mine). The other is “My Stroke of Insight” by a scientist whose career has focused on the study of the brain. She discusses her experiences as she recovers from a left-hemisphere stroke. It was interesting to read of the value she discovers in her right-hemisphere’s contributions to her life.

    Back to fiction…KBK

  5. Cait says:

    I spoke with someone this weekend who recommended the author Anne Rice. She said that she writes alot about vampires but also has a great historical fiction book out focusing on the theology and it’s historical progression. Has anyone read any of her books? Are there any that you’d recommend?

    She also suggested a book about the War in Afghanistan. I believe it is called “In the Graveyard of Empires” although I may be mistaken. Sounds interesting though.

Leave a Reply

